Giving Thanks

It’s that time of the year where many of us ask ourselves “what am I thankful for?” while consuming a surplus of food. Personally, I’m just looking forward to the sweet potatoe pie a family friend brings down from Albany every year.

  
Look at the prefection! It’s because of this woman and her blessed hands that I even like pie. Hold on while I get a napkin for this drool.

Back to the question; what am I thankful for?

For the first time my answer is simple. I’m thankful for Life. For someone who has struggled with depression it feels ironic when most of the time I want the complete opposite of that. Right now though, at this moment, that is exactly what I’m thankful for. 

Life gives me the opportunity to love the people around me, to hug my daughter and watch her grow, to snuggle my face in my dogs furry neck when I’m down, to experience beauty in the form of art, and cherish all the other unlimited small things. To live, even when I can’t find the strength to get out of bed or the motivation to progress, this struggle is a gift because to not be living is to not experience the things on the other side of the struggle. The days when the sun actually shines and the future seems promising and I actually feel like I can be something. This is life, and I’m so fucking thankful for that. 

Now hopefully I can remember this next week.

Leave a Reply

